Vocab

[Vocab] Expressions involving the word “Cross”

CROSS (CRUZ)

keep your fingers crossed!
torça para mim!
———–
Cross my heart! (Eu juro!)
Palavra de honra! (Por esta luz que me ilumina)
———–
Cross my heart and hope to die.
Eu juro por Deus.
———–
Everyone has his own cross to bear
Cada qual carrega a sua cruz
———–
We will cross that bridge when we get to it
Na hora a gente resolve
———–
he crossed his arms
ele cruzou os braços.
———–
to cross off/out
riscar, apagar, cortar
———–
crossed his mind
passou pela sua cabeça
———–
(ultrapassar o razoável, passar dos limites, martelar)
Don’t you think this crosses the line?
Você não acha que isso é passar da conta?
———–
that cross-eyed old man
aquele senhor vesgo
———–
transatlantic crossing
travessia transatlântica
———–
I’m at a crossroads (I don’t know what to do)
estou em uma encruzilhada
———–
~soccer ball that rebounds against the crossbar
uma bola na trave
———–
In my crosshairs
Na minha alça de mira
———–

–(CRUZAR)–
Our paths have crossed very often.
Por muitas vezes nossos caminhos têm se cruzado.

Look out for cars in crossing the street.
Cuidado com os carros ao cruzar a rua.
–(ATRAVESSAR)–
It is dangerous to cross the street here.
É perigoso atravessar a rua aqui.

Don’t cross the road while the signal is red.
Não atravesse a rua quando o semáforo está vermelho.

Cross the street carefully
Cuidado ao atravessar a rua
–(MISTURA)–
Their music is a cross of reggae with hip hop.
A música deles é uma mistura de reggae com hip hop.

6 thoughts on “[Vocab] Expressions involving the word “Cross”

Leave a Reply

