Vocab

Key Phrases from the book “Brutalmente” (Beastly)

Read this one a while ago to keep up on my Portuguese and made sure to highlight key phrases in my Kindle.  Finally got around to dumping the “My Clippings.txt” into my software to translate and export as an HTML table/Anki flashcard set.

The book was translated into Portuguese by a fan group on the internet.  My translations are probably much different than the English of the original book, but the focus here is on Portuguese, so it’s enough to get the point across.

Anyway, have a look, perhaps scrape a few phrases from here to put into your flashcards, or use this to prep yourself for reading the book! (I must say though that the book is a very ego-driven interpretation of Beauty and the Beast, and the film is even worse.  Just stuff for teens.)

 
estandartes de perfeição. standards of perfection.
ele a deixa plantada no baile. he left her high and dry at the dance.
pelagem, garras fur, claws
as cédulas the ballots
rabiscando scribbling/doodling/jotting
-Isso é asqueroso! -This is hideous/nasty!E, em breve estaremos sentindo seu asqueroso bafo em nossos rostos. (And soon we will smell his hideous breath in our faces.)
Por que deveriam ser tratados como a realeza? Why should they be treated like royalty?
seu nariz era longo e aquilino. his nose was long and hawkish (curved).
-Depois de dez anos vendo sua cara feia, nada me acovarda. -After ten years of seeing your ugly face, nothing intimidated/discouraged me.
…então fingi um sobressalto. …then pretended to be alarmed/surprised.
a risada desatinada de vilão de desenhos animados. the mad/crazy/demented laugh of a cartoon villain.
O ouvi averiguar o Sub-Zero (que era como ele sempre chamava o refrigerador) I heard him investigate/check out the Sub-Zero (which was what he always called the refrigerator)
Sloane praticamente arrebentou uma veia quando viu o ramalhete. Sloane practically burst a vein when she saw the bouquet.(bust a gut = arrebentar de rir)
…como aquela garota naquele velho filme de Stephen King que vi uma vez, Carrie, onde a garota desenvolvia poderes telecinéticos e os descarregava em seus inimigos. …like that girl in that old Stephen King movie I saw once, Carrie, where the girl developed telekinetic powers and discharged/vented them onto her enemies.
os menos afortunados. the less fortunate.
mesquinho e cruel. petty and cruel.
uma serpente alada de três cabeças? a winged serpent with three heads?
as corcovas de um camelo? the humps of a camel?
Parei, com a mão a maçaneta, I stopped with my hand on the knob,
pateando no chão como uma besta enjaulada. stomping the ground like a caged beast.(patear = to fail, pateada = stomping noise as signal of disapproval)
seja o que for que esteja acontecendo whatever is happening
Preciso acrescentar que ela choramingou? Must I add that she whined/cried/bitched?Nada mais há a acrescentar! (Nothing further need be said!)

Agora, pára de choramingar, levanta esse rabo e encontra-o! (Now, stop your whining, get up off your ass and go find him!)

Contive minha raiva. I suppressed my anger.(contiver = ter em si ou dentro de si; refrear, reprimir, deter; controlar-se)
uma tonelada de dinheiro a ton of money
uma navalha para me barbear. a razor to shave myself.
Corri para a janela. Queria uivar I ran to the window. I wanted to howl
O reflexo se esfumou, e ali estava meu rosto de besta outra vez. The reflection vanished, and there was my face of a beast again.
-Você era um idiota odioso. You were an obnoxious idiot.
fiquei obcecado. I became obsessed.
O apartamento tinha a pintura descascadas e o chão de linóleo. The apartment had peeling paint and linoleum floor.
Agarrou seu livro e o segurou diante dela, como se fosse um escudo. She grabbed her book and held it in front of her like a shield.
Magda já tinha desempacotado meus pertences Magda had already unpacked my belongings
Esse é o momento de adquirir sabedoria! Now is the time to get smart! (aquire wisdom)
-A florista entregava um ramalhete a cada semana. The florist delivered a bouquet each week.
Envolvi um cachecol ao redor do meu queixo e bochechas. I wrapped a scarf around my chin and cheeks.
ela estaria ansiosa para me apontar, para que soubessem que ela não estava mentindo. she was eager to point me out to let them know she was not lying.
Do lado de fora, a última rosa vermelha balançou com o vento que a soprou repentinamente. Outside, the last red rose swayed in the wind that blew it abruptly.
Ele está tão desgostoso com você como eu estou, enfiado na cama de pijama até a uma da tarde. He is as disgusted with you as I am, all tucked in bed in your pajamas until one o’clock.
Ela fez carranca. She scowled/frowned.
“Quem ousa incomodar minhas rosas?” “Who dares disturb my roses?”
Ela o encarou, mas não disse nada. She stared at him, but said nothing.
“Eu estou sentado aqui.” Eu disse suavemente. “Eu quero que você saiba então você não vai pirar.” “I’m sitting here.” I said softly. “Just letting you know so you don’t freak out.”
Eu vou jogar para você alguns arremessos suaves se perecer que você precisa deles, mas eu duvido que você vai. I’ll throw some easy ones your way if you need them, but I doubt you will.
Se ela soubesse o tanto que eu queria ela, isso poderia pirar ela. If she knew how much I wanted her, that might freak her out.
“Você dança divinamente, minha querida Ida,” eu disse. Que tapado eu era! “You dance divinely, my dear Ida,” I said. I was such a moron!
Eu queria conhecer cada sarda dourada na pele dela. I wanted to know every freckle on her golden skin.
esse súbito vazio e perda. this sudden emptiness and loss.
Deu meia volta e saiu à pressa da sala. He turned and hurried from the room.dar meia-volta = to turn around, to about-face)

5 thoughts on “Key Phrases from the book “Brutalmente” (Beastly)

Leave a Reply

